Play and Learn: Podcasts & Videos

The formerly text-based web has exploded into an audio-visual playground. Web content is bursting with images, graphics, sounds and videos. Sites that allow users to stream and/or download audio-visual content are rapidly expanding their offerings. I love that everyday users have the power to create and distribute content with ease. While I am comfortable locating, downloading and consuming online media content, I recently took the time to explore podcasts and videos in more depth.  

Podcasts

I have a very limited attention span for certain types of audio recordings. When driving, I greatly prefer loud music or the sounds of the open road to talk radio or audiobooks. Though not recently, I have listened to a number of podcasts over the last couple years, the most memorable being Google’s Plan Prompts a Question: What’s on the Web? from NPR regarding book digitization projects at Google and the Internet Archive.

I finally gave podcasts another chance. I checked out two podcasts, one professional and one personal. I listened to the Talking with Talis podcast with Diane Hillman on metadata and standards. I also listened to an episode of Sound Opinions, a rock and roll podcast by Jim DeRogatis and Greg Kot, on the South by Southwest Music Festival. Both were well-done and informative.

 

YouTube

 

YouTube is interesting. The video quality is poor, but the range of materials is incredible. This popular site also provides a way to reach a very large audience across the globe. I love that libraries and library consortiums now turn to YouTube without hesitation to market their services. Florida’s Ask a Librarian service has been promoted on YouTube through a commercial and a video contest for high school students, to name one example. For me, I have learned how to successfully post a YouTube video to this blog.

 

Published by

Cheryl

I am a librarian with the Tampa-Hillsborough County Public Library in Tampa, Florida.

Leave a Reply

